Winter is Coming

IMG_3369

A little stripey road to spring.

 

When you think of California, you think of warm, sunny beaches with palm trees, perfectly tanned stars and starlets lying on said beach, and sunny weather all the time. I’m here to tell you that’s a damn dirty lie. California can be absolutely freezing cold, and while the central valley and bay area, we might not get snow but we do get frost. I don’t know how many times I woke up in the morning and had to defrost the windows of my car so that I could actually see where I was going. And sitting in a freezing cold car, waiting for the heater to kick in? I could think of funner ways to start my mornings, thank you very much. And that’s why I’m knitting myself a scarf for this winter. I don’t have a car anymore, since I moved to San Francisco, but it still gets cold – especially when the fog rolls in. I went with a nice, easy pattern, since I don’t need anything fancy, and I plan on watching a movie while I work on this project. I’m going with a pattern I found on Ravelry – which is a great website for finding and sharing patterns, sharing projects, and talking with other knit-minded people – although the pattern itself is located on another knitting blog called Sage Yarn.

I went with this pattern because it looks simple and fast enough to knit but most importantly – it looks warm. Nothing beats keeping the cold away by wrapping a really thick and chunky scarf around your neck. It also doesn’t help that I have a skein of chunky wool that I have absolutely no idea what to do with lying around. And according to J. Reilly, the blogger, it took her about an entire viewing of Iron Man to finish the scarf, which would be roughly about three hours. It’ll probably take me longer than that because I’m far from experienced, but it’ll probably only take me the entire Iron Man trilogy at the most.

And when winter finally comes – I’ll be ready.

One thought on “Winter is Coming

Leave a Reply

